Bamboozled at the Movies

Image

Taking my daughters to see their first movie made me very happy!  Having to carry my frightened 2-year-old out during the trailers because they were incredibly terrifying did not make me happy.  Who matches up the movie trailers with the feature film and why is the rating of the actual movie not considered more carefully in this process?

I took my 2 and 3 year old daughters to see Madagascar 3 in the hopes that they would be entertained by the familiar characters and easy to understand humor.  In my opinion, three of the five movie trailers were exceedingly inappropriate for the target audience that a movie trilogy like Madagascar attracts.  I have no problem with my kids seeing Katy Perry don all sorts of crazy outfits and sing about fireworks, but when my girls saw the trailer for Paranorman they were almost driven to tears by the horrific monsters and Psycho and Jason spoofs that were way too nightmarish for their innocent little eyes.  Do they really need to be introduced to the idea of creepy, green monster hands coming out from underneath a bed while eerie music plays?  I have done a pretty good job of hiding this sort of thing from them so far only to be bamboozled by the movie industry.

I was able to take my youngest out of the theater and calm her down.  It took a few minutes of convincing her that the actual movie had not started yet and then we were able to enjoy the rest of our time at the movies.  So shame on the movie industry for dropping the ball on this one.  I really feel like there must have been some better trailer choices for a cartoon meant for young audiences.  I’ll never arrive in time to see the trailers again, so the movie industry is missing out on a big advertising opportunity with this family.

As for the happy part of this adventure, I’m thrilled to have another outing I can enjoy with my kids!  Being able to venture out to see a movie on a rainy afternoon is a pretty cool option to add to my mommy bag of tricks.  We nibbled on popcorn and licorice together and giggled with each other through the whole movie.  I’d just like to keep it G rated for as long as I can.

Aside

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 22:22:40

    I can’t wait for my first movie outing with my boys. Maybe I’ll show up just in time for the film, though!

    Reply

  2. A Fettered Mind
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 00:47:00

    I agree totally about being selective of the trailers, especially with films like Madagascar. It’s a long while since I saw G/PG movies with my children but I’ve noticed many trailers now say that the film is “yet to be classified”. It should be just common sense though and easily managed by the individual cinemas.

    Reply

  3. bronxboy55
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 10:35:47

    Did you voice your concerns to the theater manager? I’ve had the same complaint with DVDs — the movie might be rated PG, but the previews are sometimes for films rated R. There’s just no logic in that.

    Reply

    • drakejamie
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 21:27:38

      I did not say anything, I figured they would just point me toward the movie industry. I assume they don’t have much control over that, but you’re right, I could have mentioned it. Nothing will change if no one ever says anything.

      Reply

  4. ouractsofkindness
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 12:10:03

    I can relate to your experiences. We have two girls (6 and 4) and are constantly bombarded with messages we feel aren’t age appropriate. It’s truly disappointing how many violent and negative messages are communicated. From billboards to commercials to adverts on internet sites. It’s crazy.

    Whether or not this has any contribution to the amount of violence in our society – that’s for each of us to decide.

    Deep Peace

    Reply

    • drakejamie
      Jul 07, 2012 @ 13:11:21

      Yep, I often wish the people in charge would remember who they are producing things for and try to keep things truly age appropriate. Let’s let our children grow up slowly, shall we? They will have plenty of time to see the ugliness and negativity that is hard for us to hide from them. Good to know there are others that see it as well!

      Reply

Please Leave a Reply

myhappypromise

(function() { window._pa = window._pa || {}; var pa = document.createElement('script'); pa.type = 'text/javascript'; pa.async = true; pa.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https:' : 'http:') + "//tag.perfectaudience.com/serve/507e0153f16a97000200001c.js"; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(pa, s); window._pq = window._pq || []; _pq.push(['datasphere.track', 'BDSP-12593449']); })();
